RSS Feed

Marshmallow Gun. Yep, I said Marshmallow Gun

The thing about toys is that just because a toy was hot five years ago, doesn’t mean it can’t be hot now too.  While it might get old in an adult’s head, the end-user for this type of product is constantly changing.  And because the end-user is changing, we’ve got new end-user parents as well. The being said, I honestly have no idea whether or not the Marshmallow Gun was ever hot.  All I know is that it was true love the first time I passed it in a tradeshow aisle.

It was just so fun!  What a great combo!  Marshmallows which only kids love but Ohhhh do they love them!!!  For parents, they conjure up images of hot chocolate after the cold, marshmallow treats on a special day – everything “G” rated and lovely.  And a gun!  Which we are supposed to be against but we know kids play with.  I worked at a preschool during my college days.  I witnessed firsthand how popsicle sticks, stick sticks, Barbie dolls and wooden blocks all transformed into guns in the hands of a four-year old boy.  Banning gun play is a loosing battle for sure.  (Hey, maybe I will get some comments on this blog post now that I have said something controversal.  I hope you heard me!  Banning gun play doesn’t work!  Please comment!)

The Marshmallow Gun is a brilliant paradoxical combination of two treasured childhood passions – sugar and shooting things!  I called the owner of the stores for which I was buying, crossing my fingers that she didn’t have a moral opposition to the gun toy.  I explained what it was, that it was going to be great, but yes, it did shoot and was called a gun.  I got the greenlight!

After the first order arrived the staff kind of raised an eyebrow.  Not they didn’t love it (they all wanted one!) but because we were a children’s bookstore.  Really?  REALLY!  I said.  I could not have predicted what a great consistent item they were going to be for us.  People came to our store specifically because they had heard of these marshmallow guns.  Incase you didn’t know, that is a retailer’s dream – a product that introduces you to a whole new group of customers.  They bought them as gifts for their kid’s friends. They bought 4 at a time because their college kids were coming home and they wanted them for some family fun.  They bought it because it was a Marshmallow Gun and really, who doesn’t want to own a Marshmallow Gun?  We were constantly reordering and expanding the line!

Does my family own one?  Of course!  Favorite past time – trying to shoot the marshmallow as high as possible.  Extra points for landing it on the roof (I am pretty sure the crows like them too.)

A couple of tips – 1) yes, they have them at Target – but really, support your local independents who are smart enough to carry them (check out the 3/50 Project to see why this is so important!).  Too many independents are disappearing these days!  And 2) quality of marshmallow does matter – the cheap ones that are already stuck together in the bag at the store – are going to be a problem.  Use the ones that have lots of powdered sugar on the outside (can even roll in powdered sugar again, before you load it up).

About connoisseur of kid stuff

mom of 1, soon to be 2 teenage daughters. wife to vegetarian artist husband. writer. reader. entrepreneur. passion for children's products and book industries, of which I have been a part in multiple capacities over the last fourteen years.

Leave a Reply

